CAMEROON CONGO REPUBLIC EQUATORIAL GUINEA CHAD

fighting kleptocracy with humain stories

There is a lack of trustworthy and understandable information on kleptocracy in Central Africa. On top of that there is a lack of civic education and interest of citizens on corruption in a way that would matter to them. Central Africa Region is according to UNDP Report “ a sub-region falling behind”. It scores at, or close to, the bottom of global development indices – with the ECCAS countries recording the highest incidence of poverty among all African REC blocs, despite their shared mineral and other natural resource wealth. Central African countries also score particularly poorly across governance indicators, with Cameroon, CAR, Chad, DRC, Equatorial Guinea and the Republic of Congo among the countries at the bottom of the global indices, underscoring fragility in the region. OCA aims to fix that problem by providing a unique place where to find understandable stories about Kleptocracy in Central Africa and call to action against that problem.

Cameroon

Cameroon is a country in Central Africa, located between Nigeria in the north-west, Chad in the north, Central African Republic in the east, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea in the south, the Republic of Congo in the south-east and the Gulf of Guinea to the southwest. The official languages are French and English. At the head of this country rich in natural resources, "throne" since 1982 Paul Biya aged 86 who runs this country without sharing. Transparency International and other annotation agencies.

Chad

Chad, is a central African country without access to the sea, which is located in south of Libya, east of Niger, Nigeria, and Cameroon and north of the Central African Republic and west of Sudan. Its capital is N'Djamena. Geographically and culturally, Chad is a crossing point between North Africa and sub-Saharan Africa. With an area of 1, 284,000 km2, and an estimated population of 1,516,204.4 million, it is the fifth largest country in Africa. Its current president is Idriss Déby, who is in power since 1990 after a coup. He changed the constitution in 2005 in order to stay indefinitely in power. Chad is a nation well known for its civil war and several conflicts.

Congo republic

The Republic of the Congo is the fourth oil-producing country in Africa. It is nestled between its giant homonym the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Central Africa Republic, Cameroon, Cabinda Province (Angola) and Gabon. It was named People Republic of the Congo from the 1963 Congolese Maoist coup to 1992. it has been through many civil war and a coup in June 1997 where about 400.000 congoleses died. After changing the constitution in October 2015 and holding a marred election in March 2016, the old self-servant kleptocrat, Sassou Nguesso, unleashed a brutal military repression to stay in power.

Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea ́s 28 thousand square kilometers is composed by a territory in the mainland surrounded by Cameroon and Gabon, and the islands of Bioko, Annobon and Corisco. It is considered the third largest oil producer in Africa and has around 1 million inhabitants, making it the third highest per capita income country in Africa after the Seychelles and Mauritius. However, the president and his family have squandered oil revenues and the country's coffers to fund personal lavish lifestyles while most of its population live in poverty. The government has an appalling human rights record and is among the 10 most corrupt governments in the world. Equatorial Guinea gained its independence in 1968, and since 1979 president Teodoro Obiang rules the country, becoming one of the longest serving non-royal head of state in the world. His son, nicknamed “Teodorín”, is the vice president of the country since 2012 and has been prosecuted for corruption in the US, Brazil, France, South Africa or Switzerland.

our mission

Central Africa is the region with the largest concentration of authoritarian kleptocratic regimes, but individuals often do not fully understand how kleptocracy affects their daily lives and public services they receive.. Addressing kleptocracy at the country level is a necessary step, if we want to see change in how kleptocracy is being tackled and ensuring there is synergy between all the different actions taking place. The Anti-Kleptocracy Coalition of Central Africa was created to specifically address a common challenge and leverage the power of civil society organizations working together to tackle kleptocracy in the region. With this site and by disseminating information on the cases feature here through social media information, the coalition hopes to shed light on the looting happening in the region and provide citizens with information that they care about. Citizens need to know what is happening with their country’s riches, where is the money going and how they are affected by this plundering. WIth this information, citizens will be able to take action and demand change; effectively raising the stakes of stealing public money.

Latest stories

Media

inku
A victory against kleptocracy: Vice-President of Equatorial Guinea sentenced for corruption
occrp
Paul Biya, Cameroon’s Roaming President
ft
IMF criticised over bailouts for central Africa’s petrostates

about the coalition

Central Africa is the region with the largest concentration of authoritarian kleptocratic regimes, but individuals often do not fully understand how kleptocracy affects their daily lives and public services they receive coupled with a lack of civic education. The Anti-Kleptocracy Coalition of Central Africa was created to specifically address a common challenge and leverage the power of civil society organizations working together to tackle kleptocracy in the region. The coalition formally launched in February 2018 in Accra by ADISI from Cameroon, Sassoufit from Republic of Congo, EG Justice from Equatorial Guinea and Public Interest Law Center from Chad, it envisions a Central African region with updated strong democratic institutions that guarantee equal access to resources and rights.

the coalition

Our Partners

CAMEROUN CONGO RÉPUBLIQUE ÉQUATORIALE GUINÉE TCHAD

combattre la kleptocratie avec des histoires humaines

Il y a un manque d'informations fiables et compréhensibles sur la kleptocratie en Afrique centrale. En plus de cela, il y a un manque d'éducation civique et d'intérêt des citoyens pour la corruption d'une manière qui leur importerait. La région de l'Afrique centrale est, selon le rapport du PNUD, «une sous-région en retard». Il se situe au bas ou près du bas des indices de développement mondiaux - les pays de la CEEAC enregistrant la plus forte incidence de pauvreté parmi tous les blocs de CER africains, en dépit de leur richesse partagée en minéraux et autres ressources naturelles. Les pays d'Afrique centrale obtiennent également des résultats particulièrement médiocres pour les indicateurs de gouvernance, le Cameroun, la RCA, le Tchad, la RDC, la Guinée équatoriale et la République du Congo étant parmi les pays en bas des indices mondiaux, ce qui souligne la fragilité de la région. L'OCA vise à résoudre ce problème en fournissant un endroit unique où trouver des histoires compréhensibles sur la kleptocratie en Afrique centrale et appeler à l'action contre ce problème.

Cameroun

Le Cameroun est un pays d'Afrique centrale, situé entre le Nigeria au nord-ouest, le Tchad en le nord, la République centrafricaine à l'est, le Gabon et la Guinée équatoriale au sud, la République du Congo au sud-est et le golfe de Guinée au sud-ouest. L'officiel les langues sont le français et l'anglais. A la tête de ce pays riche en ressources naturelles, «trône» depuis 1982 Paul Biya âgé de 86 ans qui dirige ce pays sans partager. Transparency International et autres agences d'annotation.

Guinée Équatoriale

Guinée Équatoriale Les 28 mille kilomètres carrés de la Guinée équatoriale sont composés d'un territoire continent entouré par le Cameroun et le Gabon, et les îles de Bioko, Annobon et Corisco. Il est considéré comme le troisième plus grand producteur de pétrole en Afrique et compte environ 1 million habitants, ce qui en fait le troisième pays à revenu par habitant en Afrique après la Seychelles et Maurice. Cependant, le président et sa famille ont gaspillé du pétrole revenus et les coffres du pays pour financer des modes de vie somptueux personnels tandis que la plupart de ses la population vit dans la pauvreté. Le gouvernement a un bilan épouvantable en matière de droits humains et parmi les 10 gouvernements les plus corrompus au monde. La Guinée équatoriale a gagné son l'indépendance en 1968, et depuis 1979, le président Teodoro Obiang gouverne le pays, devenir l'un des chefs d'État non royaux les plus anciens au monde. Son fils, surnommé «Teodorín», est le vice-président du pays depuis 2012 et a été nommé poursuivi pour corruption aux États-Unis, au Brésil, en France, en Afrique du Sud ou en Suisse.

République du Congo

La République du Congo est le quatrième pays producteur de pétrole en Afrique. Il est niché entre son homonyme géant la République démocratique du Congo, République centrafricaine, Cameroun, Province de Cabinda (Angola) et Gabon. Il a été nommé République populaire du Congo depuis le coup d'État maoïste congolais de 1963 jusqu'en 1992. Il a traversé de nombreuses guerres civiles et un coup d'État en juin 1997 où environ 400 000 congolais sont morts. Après avoir changé la constitution en octobre 2015 et organisé une élection entachée en mars 2016, le vieux kleptocrate self-servant, Sassou Nguesso, a déchaîné une armée brutale répression pour rester au pouvoir.

Tchad

Le Tchad est un pays d'Afrique centrale sans accès à la mer, situé au sud de la Libye, à l'est du Niger, du Nigéria et du Cameroun et au nord de la République centrafricaine et à l'ouest du Soudan. Sa capitale est N’Djamena. Géographiquement et culturellement, le Tchad est un point de passage entre l'Afrique du Nord et l'Afrique subsaharienne. Avec une superficie de 1 284 000 km2 et une population estimée à 1 516 204,4 millions d'habitants, c'est le cinquième plus grand pays d'Afrique. Son président actuel est Idriss Déby, au pouvoir depuis 1990 après un coup d'État. Il a changé la constitution en 2005 afin de rester indéfiniment au pouvoir. Le Tchad est une nation bien connue pour sa guerre civile et ses nombreux conflits. Libye Translations of Libye NounFrequency Libya Libye

notre mission

L'Afrique centrale est la région avec la plus grande concentration de régimes kleptocratiques autoritaires, mais les individus ne comprennent souvent pas pleinement comment la kleptocratie affecte leur vie quotidienne et les services publics qu'ils reçoivent. changer la façon dont la kleptocratie est abordée et assurer une synergie entre toutes les différentes actions en cours. La Coalition anti-kleptocratie d'Afrique centrale a été créée pour répondre spécifiquement à un défi commun et tirer parti du pouvoir des organisations de la société civile travaillant ensemble pour lutter contre la kleptocratie dans la région. Avec ce site et en diffusant des informations sur les cas présentés ici par le biais des médias sociaux, la coalition espère faire la lumière sur les pillages dans la région et fournir aux citoyens des informations qui leur tiennent à cœur. Les citoyens doivent savoir ce qui se passe avec les richesses de leur pays, où va l’argent et comment ils sont affectés par ce pillage. Avec ces informations, les citoyens pourront agir et exiger des changements; augmenter efficacement les enjeux du vol d’argent public.

Dernières histoires

Médias

inku
Une victoire contre la kleptocratie: le vice-président de la Guinée équatoriale condamné pour corruption
humanite
ACHILLE MBEMBE . « PAUL BIYA NE TIENT QUE PAR LA VIOLENCE ET LES PRÉBENDES »
letemps
Paul Biya, un hôte de plus en plus encombrant pour la Suisse

à propos de la coalition

L'Afrique centrale est la région avec la plus grande concentration de régimes kleptocratiques autoritaires, mais les individus ne comprennent souvent pas complètement comment la kleptocratie affecte leur vie quotidienne et les services publics qu'ils reçoivent, conjuguée à un manque d'éducation civique. La Coalition anti-kleptocratie d'Afrique centrale a été créée pour répondre spécifiquement à un défi commun et tirer parti du pouvoir des organisations de la société civile travaillant ensemble pour lutter contre la kleptocratie dans la région. La coalition a été officiellement lancée en février 2018 à Accra par l'ADISI du Cameroun, Sassoufit de la République du Congo, EG Justice de la Guinée équatoriale et le Centre d'intérêt public du Tchad.Elle envisage une région de l'Afrique centrale avec des institutions démocratiques fortes et mises à jour qui garantissent un accès égal aux ressources. et les droits.

la coalition

Nos partenaires